NCMS Nominating and Leadership Development Committee issues final slate of candidates

You should have received an e-mail from NCMS by now.  It is coming from our third party vender, Intelliscan.  If you have not seen it, please check your spam folder.

The North Carolina Medical Society Nominating and Leadership Development Committee has issued the final slate of candidates. Under the NCMS’ governance structure, online voting for the candidates will begin on September 29, 2022 and continue until midnight on October 13, 2022.

Paper ballots will be available to those who need them. If you do not receive your ballot, please contact NCMS.

Individuals interested in voting in the NCMS Election must be an active NCMS Member (2022 dues paid).

The following slate of nominees was selected by the Nominating and Leadership Development Committee:

NCMS Board of Directors:

President-Elect: Eileen Raynor, MD


Region 2 Representative: Charul Haugan, MD


At-Large: Merritt Seshul, MD

NC American Medical Association Delegation:

Delegate: E. Rebecca Hayes, MD


Delegate: Karen Smith, MD


Delegate: Roy Syracuse, MD



The following are the members of the NCMS Nominating and Leadership Development Committee:

Chair Phil Brown, Jr., MD

President-Elect Arthur Apolinario, MD

Ex-Officio Michael Utecht, MD

Board Representative Jugta Kahai, MD

Board Representative Eileen Raynor, MD

Region 1 Representative Latonya Beatty, MD

Region 1 Representative Chris Grubb, MD

Region 1 Representative Joe Navejar, DO

Region 2 Representative Justin Hurie, MD

Region 2 Representative Ronnie Laney, MD

Region 2 Representative Madji Namde, MD

Region 3 Representative Labron Chambers, MD

Region 3 Representative Peter Fenn, PA-C

Region 3 Representative Jim Hill, PA-C

Region 4 Representative Tracy Bell, PA-C

Region 4 Representative Frank Melvin, MD

Region 4 Representative MaryShell Zaffino, MD