The North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS) Nominating and Leadership Development Committee met last weekend to interview candidates and vote for the initial slate of nominees for officers, directors and AMA delegates. The general membership still may nominate individuals for these positions between now and Aug. 28, 2017. Please use this form to submit nominations. For questions on the nominating process, contact Evan Simmons via email at [email protected] or by calling 919-833-3836.
The following slate of nominees was selected by the committee:

  • President-Elect – Timothy J. Reeder, MD
  • Secretary Treasurer – John J. Meier, IV, MD
  • Board of Directors, Region 3 – Arthur E. Apolinario, MD
  • Board of Directors, Region 4 – Dana L. Chambers, MD
  • Board of Directors, At-Large – Michael J. Utecht, MD
  • Board of Directors, At-Large – Eileen M. Raynor, MD
  • AMA Delegates ―
    • Mary Ann Contogiannis, MD
    • John A. Fagg, MD
    • Charles F. Willson, MD
  • AMA Alternate Delegate ― Timothy M. Beittel, MD

The Committee will reconvene to consider any additional nominees and publish the final slate of candidates by Oct. 3, 2017. Under the NCMS’ new governance structure, online voting for the candidates will begin on Oct. 10, 2017 and continue until midnight on Oct. 23, 2017. Paper ballots also will be available to those who need them.
The following are the members of the NCMS Nominating and Leadership Development Committee:

  • Region 1 – Edward J. Ricciardelli, MD
  • Region 2 – Kunal Mitra, MD, MBA
  • Region 3 – William F. Ingram, III, MD
  • Region 3 – Docia E. Hickey, MD
  • Region 4 – Gandhari Loomis, DO
  • Region 4 – Rachel D. Keever, MD, FACC
  • Region 4 – Shannon E. Hunter, MD