SPECIAL NOTICE: NCMS Issues Initial Slate of Nominees 

 The North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS) Nominating and Leadership Development Committee met via Zoom on Saturday, May 22, 2022 to interview candidates and vote for the initial slate of nominees for officers, directors, and AMA delegates. Per NCMS Bylaws, Component Societies, Specialty Societies, and Sections may submit additional nominations for these positions between now and August 12, 2022. Please use this form to submit nominations. For questions on the nominating process, contact Evan Simmons 

 The following slate of nominees was selected by the Nominating and Leadership Development Committee: 

 NCMS Board of Directors 

President-Elect: Eileen Raynor, MD 

Region 2 Representative: Charul Haugan, MD 

At-Large: Merritt Seshul, MD  


NC American Medical Association Delegation 

Delegate: E. Rebecca Hayes, MD 

Delegate: Karen Smith, MD 

Delegate: Roy Syracuse, MD 


The Committee will reconvene to determine the eligibility of any additional nominees. The final slate of candidates will be published to members by September 23, 2022. Under the NCMS’ governance structure, online voting for the candidates will begin on September 29, 2022 and continue until midnight on October 13, 2022. Paper ballots also will be available to those who need them. 

The following are the members of the NCMS Nominating and Leadership Development Committee: 

Chair Phil Brown, Jr., MD  

President-Elect Arthur Apolinario, MD  

Ex-Officio Michael Utecht, MD  

Board Representative Jugta Kahai, MD 

Board Representative Eileen Raynor, MD 

Region 1 Representative Latonya Beatty, MD  

Region 1 Representative Chris Grubb, MD  

Region 1 Representative Joe Navejar, DO  

Region 2 Representative Justin Hurie, MD  

Region 2 Representative Ronnie Laney, MD  

Region 2 Representative Madji Namde, MD 

Region 3 Representative Labron Chambers, MD 

Region 3 Representative Peter Fenn, PA-C  

Region 3 Representative Jim Hill, PA-C  

Region 4 Representative Tracy Bell, PA-C 

Region 4 Representative Frank Melvin, MD  

Region 4 Representative MaryShell Zaffino, MD