Robert E. Schaaf, MD, FACR

RALEIGH — Congratulations to Robert E. Schaaf, MD, FACR, for winning the 2022 E. Harvey Estes, Jr., MD, Physician Community Service Award.

Dr. Schaaf has been serving people in the Triangle area of North Carolina for nearly five decades. He is known for his deep belief that all North Carolinians deserve safe, high-quality care. His commitment to the community has spanned work with the American Red Cross, NCMS, various statewide boards, Wake Forest University, and he has been on the NC Medical Care Commission for four North Carolina governors.

He joins Miriam Schwarz as the John Huske Anderson Award winner and Dr. John Barkley as the Harris Memorial Award winner.  Our Golden Stethoscope Award winners are Dr. Kerianne Crockett, Dr. Rebecca Hayes, Dr. Suneya Hogarty, and Dr. Lisa Kaufmann.

He will be given his award at the 2022 Golden Stethoscope Awards Gala on Saturday night at the Raleigh Marriott Crabtree.