Miriam Schwarz, John Huske Anderson Award winner

RALEIGH — Congratulations are in order for Miram Schwarz, the 2022 John Huske Anderson Award winner.

Schwarz is known around the state as a tireless champion of the underdog.  Under her leadership, the Western Carolina Medical Society has successfully become a beacon for people who need help.  Among her accomplishments are Project Access, the WNC Colorectal Cancer Screening Initiative, and the WCMS Interpreter Network. She has been described as having a brand of fierce kindness that is needed in the world today and as someone who has taken the art of advocating and made it beautiful.

She joins Dr. John Barkley as the Harris Memorial Award winner and Robert E. Schaaf, MD, FACR as the E. Harvey Estes, Jr., MD, Physician Community Service Award.  Our Golden Stethoscope Award winners are Dr. Kerianne Crockett, Dr. Rebecca Hayes, Dr. Suneya Hogarty, and Dr. Lisa Kaufmann.

She will be given her award at the 2022 Golden Stethoscope Awards Gala on Saturday night at the Raleigh Marriott Crabtree.