Kanof Institute for Physician Leadership 2016 class of Leadership College scholars had their 15 minutes of fame at the M3 Conference as they delivered “MedTalks” on the results of their year-long Leadership College projects. The presentations were well attended by both their fellow scholars and those curious M3 attendees.
Project topics ranged from Scott Lisson, MD, Daniel Barzan, DO, and Bhavik Patel, MD’s presentation on  “NC Physician Attitudes toward the ACA and the Drive Toward Value-based Reimbursement: Are Physicians Really on Board? (answer: not really) to Angela Meredith’s, MD, presentation on what clinicians can do to identify victims of human trafficking and help them.  North Carolina ranked in the top 15 states in nation for calls to the Human Trafficking Resource Center hotline (1-888-373-7888). The majority of these victims have had contact with health care professionals during their captivity, Dr. Meredith reported in her presentation. Watch the NCMS website for videos of the scholars’ MedTalks.
While the 2016 class of leadership scholars were concluding the year-long program, the incoming class of 2017 had their orientation to the program. This class is the largest in the history of the Leadership College with 25 scholars, demonstrating the value of and need for the Kanof Institute’s leadership training. View the 2017 class here.
The Health Care Leadership and Management (HCLM) 2017 class also was announced. This track focuses more on the business aspects of health care leadership. The HCLM scholars are:

  • Deb Bhowmick, MD, Neurological Surgery, Chapel Hill
  • Yun Boylston, MD, Pediatrics, Mebane
  • Amira El Sherif, MD, Pediatrics, Fayetteville
  • Teresa Herbert, MD, Pediatrics, Arden
  • Erica Herman, MD, Psychiatry, Winston Salem
  • David Hogarty, DO, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Goldsboro
  • Karen Issacs, MD, MPH, Family Medicine, Wilmington
  • Beverly Jones, III, MD, Psychiatry, Salisbury
  • Vijaysinha Mandhare, MD, Pain Management, Raleigh
  • Bryant Murphy, MD, MBA, Anesthesiology, Fayetteville
  • Scott Paviol, MD, Dermatology, Mooresville
  • Rhianna Ritter, MD, Family Medicine, Canton
  • Ami Shah, MD, Ophthalmology, Durham

Congratulations to the graduates as well as the incoming scholars!