SB 170 – Students, Parents, Community Rights Act

Primary Senate Sponsors: Sen. Kevin Corbin (R-Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain); Sen. Ted Alexander (R-Cleveland, Gaston, Lincoln); Sen. Dean Proctor (R-Alexander, Catawba)


This bill authorizes all public and nonpublic high schools in Alexander County, Catawba County, Cherokee County, Clay County, Cleveland County, Graham County, Haywood County, Jackson County, Lincoln County, Macon County, and Swain County to allow spectators to attend outdoor sporting events as long as the number of spectators does not exceed 50% of the outdoor facility’s capacity stated on the facility’s certificate of occupancy, or no more than 7 spectators for every 1,000 square feet if the facility does not have a certificate. Spectators who bring their own seats will not count toward the limit on the number of spectators if they maintain 6 feet of distance between themselves and anyone outside of their family unit.

Schools must comply with the StrongSchoolsNC Public Health Toolkit and the Interim Guidance for Administrators and Participants of Youth Amateur Sports Programs when allowing access for spectators.


Filed – 3/1/2021