SB 124 – Access to HS Graduations/Certain Counties

Primary Senate Sponsors: Sen. Todd Johnson (R-Union); Sen. Tom McInnis (R-Anson, Moore, Richmond, Scotland); Sen. Vickie Sawyer (R-Iredell, Yadkin)


Requires all public and nonpublic high schools in Anson County, Iredell County, Moore County, Richmond County, Scotland County, Union County, and Yadkin County to adhere to the following when permitting access to outdoor graduation ceremonies:

  • Limit attendees to no more than 50% of an outdoor facility’s approved capacity as stated on the facility’s certificate of occupancy, or no more than seven persons for every 1,000 square feet if the facility does not have a certificate of occupancy. The bill notes that the term “attendee” does not include graduating students, public/nonpublic high school employees, entertainers, or staff providing support for a graduation ceremony.
  • Schools must comply with the requirements of the StrongSchoolsNC Public Health Toolkit.


Filed – 2/22/2021

This bill was referred to the following Senate committees:

-Rules and Operations