NCDAVE deadline is September 1, 2022

RALEIGH — North Carolina is making the switch to electronic death certification using the NCDAVE platform and the deadline to convert is September 1, 2022.  NCDAVE makes the job of Medical Certifiers easier, improve accuracy, and simplify the completion of death certificates.  It will also better serve the families of decedents.

Senate Bill 138 says that beginning September 1, 2022, death certificates must be filed electronically with the Office of Vital Records via the North Carolina Database Application for Vital Events (NCDAVE) system. After that date fines begin.  Assessments begin with a penalty of $250 for the first violation, $500 for the second violation, and $1,000 for the third and each subsequent violation.

Registration is simple. The North Carolina Division of Public Health Office of Vital Records has a secure, web-based statewide system for electronic death certificates.

To complete your form and get started click here.